4th of July in Gatlinburg


So I’m here in Gatlinburg for the 4th of July holiday. I’m trying to stay away from the hordes of people who also want to enjoy their time off in this beautiful area. We’ve had a lot of rain the last few days, but now it seems to be done for the evening. And that’s good. Because there is a parade starting in just a few hours…you see Gatlinburg is always the host to the very first July 4th parade in the country. It begins at stoplight #3 at 12:01am. I’m probably going to go.

I’m not a big fan of parades; the crowds, the noise, I’d just as soon have my own party in my backyard with good friends. But, since I’m here I figure I’ll mark this one off my list of interesting things I’ve done.

I looked it up, the parade is one of the top 10 in the country according to National Geographic Traveler Magazine. So I will, I’ll go see it. I’m hoping for no rain, and will try to be patient with the crowd.

Happy Birthday America!

Leave a Reply

